Finding Faith In New Places

“Die when I may, I want it said of me by those who knew me best, that I always plucked a thistle and planted a flower where I thought a flower would grow.” -Abraham Lincoln

If there’s one thing I want people to known for, it’s for finding faith in the bleakest of situations, and for seeing even the littlest bit of light in the darkest of places; the good in the hardest of hearts.

One thing I’ve learned in the past months is that goodness is everlasting. There will always be love and light and goodness in the world- it’s not going to go away unless you stop looking for it. I’ve stopped looking this month because it’s harder to find now. I was so blessed to have a beautiful relationship, one that put the light of the world in the palm of my hands, and like a little lightening bug, it’s flown away from me and faded back into the darkness.

I now have the choice to grive over my losses or look for light in other places. Sometimes, it feels better in the dark: alone, quiet, numbing. But life is never going to be easy. Nor is the love that we need easy to find. But it is always worth the effort.

It’s time now to find faith in new places.

Leave a Reply

